StorCycle Access your data
StorCycle’s unique ability to use HTML Links or Symbolic Links* assures quick and easy user access to data even after it has been migrated. StorCycle migrates the file from primary storage leaving a link behind for future access. The best of all worlds. IT administrators are able to free up valuable primary storage while users can continue to access their data seamlessly. StorCycle can be used to make copies of primary storage (leaving the original data in place) or perform a more traditional archive – move data from the Primary Tier to the Perpetual Tier while leaving no data or link on primary storage. The user-friendly StorCycle web interface also includes a robust search interface to easily find and retrieve files. Access data the way you want to!

Accessing Data / Restore

Spectra StorCycle allows for easy restoration of migrated data. Files may be restored to their original location or to a new location. For example, a user may wish to restore a large project from a public cloud to onsite nearline storage for analysis on a primary system in the near future. Alternatively, data may be restored directly to the primary storage it was originally copied from. Similar to StorCycle’s migrate/store function, restore jobs may be performed immediately or scheduled for a future time. If files have been migrated to more than one storage target, StorCycle will attempt to restore data from targets in the following order of priority:

Restore your data diagram image

Numerous Ways To Access Data

Restore by HTML Link
When an archived file is replaced with an HTML Link, as described above, the HTML Link can be used to restore the file. To restore, open the HTML Link file in a web browser and follow instructions on the page. StorCycle also offers the option of restoring other files in the same directory.

If the user does not have permission to restore files in StorCycle, they will be able to use the HTML Link to request that a restore be done. The request will go to a StorCycle administrator for approval and processing.

Click images to enlarge.

Data access before migration image

Restore by Symbolic Link (available in future release)

A symbolic link is a file-system object that points to another file. Spectra StorCycle can replace archived files with symbolic links provided the archived file has been migrated to network-attached storage (NAS). The symbolic link will point to the migrated file on the NAS. Symbolic links use almost no storage space. Users and applications can transparently interact with symbolic links as if they were real files, though the performance will be a bit slower. Note that using symbolic links does not actually restore the file to the original source storage, but it makes the file accessible from its original location. To actually restore the file and remove the symbolic link, the StorCycle web interface must be used, as described below.

Restore with Web Interface
Users that have restore permissions can use the StorCycle web interface to restore files. Files can be restored in the web interface by two methods:

  • If the project name in which the file is located is known, the project can be manually selected.
  • A search tool can be used to search by file/directory name, project name, or tag name (this is why it is important to use good project and tag names when migrating files).

Once the files to be restored are found and selected, the user can choose to restore the files immediately or at a scheduled time. The user can also choose to restore the files to their original location or to a new location.

User Roles and Permissions

Spectra StorCycle users can have multiple roles related to data migration.

Administrator

The Administrator role is granted to a user via the StorCycle web management interface. Administrators have the ability to configure all aspects of StorCycle, including storage locations, users, departments, database backups and more. They also have full permissions to configure storage locations and initiate migration and restore jobs. They can also approve file restores for Anonymous Users (see below).

Storage Manager

The Storage Manager role is for users that will regularly be doing migrate and restore jobs. This user role can be granted to a user via the StorCycle web management interface. Storage Managers only have permissions to do scan, archive and restore operations. They do not have permissions to configure items such as storage locations and departments.

Authenticated User

The Authenticated User role is for users who will be doing restore operations. This user role can optionally be granted to all Active Directory users in the StorCycle Active Directory settings. Authenticated Users can restore files via HTML Links or via the web interface restore features – either the Restore Wizard or the Search.

Anonymous User

Users who do not fall into one of the above roles are deemed, “Anonymous Users.” Unlike the other roles, anonymous users do not have StorCycle user accounts. Anonymous users can see HTML Links and can open them. They can then complete a form to request that file restores be done. Requests are approved by Administrators. Anonymous users cannot directly restore the files themselves.

Migrated Files Can be Directly Accessed without Spectra StorCycle

Files migrated by Spectra StorCycle are typically accessed via StorCycle. However, users can also access the files directly on the target storage without using StorCycle, assuming that they have permissions and that they have not been encrypted by StorCycle. StorCycle writes the files to storage targets using the file’s original name and directory structure. This means that organizations are not locked into using StorCycle to access managed files. Some organizations may even choose to share the files migrated to storage targets, such as making an Amazon cloud bucket publically accessible or allowing another organization’s users to access files migrated to a NAS target.

When the storage target is BlackPearl and tape, the tapes are written by BlackPearl in the open LTFS format, which means that the tapes can be read by any other system that supports LTFS. This prevents “vendor lock-in”.

*Available in a future release

X